Skip to content

Academy Titanic – 1:400 scale – {part 40}

October 21, 2015

I had stopped the build for a short time,  to work on the Half moon.   I didn’t get back to this build until the beginning of October………even that was sporadic at best.   I did a little here and a little there……not making very much progress.   I had left off with the second funnel,  needing to finish the guy lines.   There was a vent in the way of the starboard side guy line,  making it hard to rig without hitting it.   It needed to be relocated,  and the deck repaired,  since this will leave a mark.

#1

The vent sat on a raised pod.   After it was removed,  this pod was shaved down flush with the deck.   I did an attempt……..don’t think I did as good a job as I would have liked,  but I did my best to scribe plank lines into the repaired area.   the vent was then cemented further inward on the deck.

#2

I had misjudged the thread and had fallen short in completing these two sets of guy lines.   I cemented off these lines and added two  ‘patch pieces of thread to make up the difference.   One side went fine………the other side,  the cement didn’t hold on the thread,  and when I went to trim off the excess,  it popped out of the hole.   I ended up redoing it……..this time I used Ca as the cement.   It held then……….hee…hee….hee!

#3

I think another week passed before I touched her again.   Since the first,  second and fourth funnel is rigged,  I’ll work on putting the tops on them……the third one will have to wait a little longer.   The funnel tops are three pieces……..the outer part,  the inner liner,  and the grates.   The outer surface of the tops were painted flat black.   The inner liners and any internal parts of the funnel throat,  were painted with the paint I had mixed for the hull.

#1    #2

They are all the same part number…….but I wasn’t sure if there was a front or back.   They were fitted to determine this {they fit poorly…..had to do some shaving},  and cemented in place.   The first and second funnels got theirs…..

#3

All this time,  I had this section on my desk.   The darn thing was in the way all the time it was there.   At one point,  I hit it with my arm,  as I was coming out of the living room.   I broke a number of small parts on the funnels…….a vent tube…..a ladder…….and I broke free the aft pair of cranes {surprised I didn’t break the booms off}.  I had to do some repair work…………then it got moved to the main table!   The last thing done at this time,  was the beginning of the starboard railings for the third funnel.

#4

There is one for the port side when this one is assembled.    There is more to go after these are done.   I will get the third funnel rigged,  so this entire assembly can be cemented in the hull.   I can do the rest when that is done……..the ship will no longer be in sections.

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment