Skip to content

Academy Titanic – 1:400 scale – {part 39}

September 1, 2015

Finally,   I got to painting those railings……..the ones that I had already cemented in place were the worst of it.   I had to stiffen up the paint,  which by this time,  was thinned down to a wash.   I only had mixed up 1/4 oz to do the bottom paint with……figured I’d use the rest of it for painting the brown aspects.   There will be some touching up to be done.

#1   #2

#3

When the railing painting was caught up to some degree,   other parts were painted before they were cemented in place.

#4

That tiny piece of railing toward the back of the clothes pin………..it was part of the two sections that are in the clothes pins to the left.   I was going to cement the section together,  when it flew to parts unknown.   I looked all over for it!  When I found it futile to continue looking for it,  I used the duplicate part that was on the other sprue.    I had to take Gibbs out……….when I came back in and settled in my seat,  I noticed it on the floor beside the garbage can!   I must have been blind!  😀  😀   The 3/4 square sections were also put together……..there are a lot of small sections like this.

#5

More parts were added to the aft section…….a bit of touch up was done here as well.    The two 3/4 square sections were cemented in place next.

#6

Then,  other sections were added to the structures……..and even more touch ups were done as well.

#7    #8

After double checking to be sure that all of the railing was in place,   the first funnel was rigged with it’s support cables.

#9

This funnel is keen to note………in some of the pictures I saw,  there is another set of cables that originate from the structure roofs,  and terminate half way up the funnels.   The first funnel has one……..but it terminates at the top of the funnel instead.   Had I seen this earlier,   I would have done this………this was very doable and interesting that this scale of kit doesn’t have this sort of detail.

#10

This bit of extra detail would really add to the model.    In between the third and fourth funnel,  there is a small structure that need to be assembled further.   It requires the painting of a skylight and the addition of two set of pipes for the third funnel.   Work began on the roof.

#11

More was done around the second funnel.

#12

When this step and touch ups were done,  the second funnel was rigged with it’s cables.

#13

The thread fell short………I ended up adding in another section.

#14

It looks like I’ll need to make an adjustment to that vent.  I left this section of it unglued at the moment,  until I fix this.

#15

With the number four funnel finished as well,  it too was re-rigged with it’s cables.

#16

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment