Skip to content

Academy Titanic – 1:400 scale – {part 38}

August 20, 2015

8-14-2015

I know I’ve been on the fence………whether or not to light this model.   I found that I had made poor provision to do this.   My biggest concern would be the light filtration through the white cabin parts.   I don’t want it looking like a ghost ship.   I had done an earlier dry attempt using only two bulbs,  and saw that it really didn’t give the look I wanted.   I was going to abandon the idea……but I changed my mind.   Running wire through both of the holes in the stand pegs…….I made notches in the base.   The wire were captured in U shaped brackets made of plastic.  Four lights will be used……two soldered to one circuit,  the other two on the other incoming wire.   Before the stern section was cemented in place,  one light was placed way aft……….I wouldn’t be able to get to it,  if I didn’t.

#1

#2

Two wires were added in the mix,  that will lead to other lights,  that will be placed in the bridge deck and the cabins of the A deck.   Sadly,  nothing can be done for the boat deck.   I’ll try……..but I can’t guarantee anything.   These next pictures may be hard to see……..blown up,  they are a bit more visible.   The admiral was skeptical about it at first…but now that she’s seen it……..she likes it  🙂

#3

#4

#5

It does seem kind of neat that the well decks are somewhat illuminated.   The light filtration even comes through the decks………to do this in a better way,  would take a lot of extra work.   I’ll go with it the rest of the way  😉

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment